Digital Arkansas City

Arkansas City, Kansas

Red Cross Scrapbook 1934: page 73 - November


Red Cross Scrapbook 1934: page 73 - November


American Red Cross

Great Depression, 1929-1939

Food relief--Kansas



A page from the 1934 scrapbook of newspaper clippings from the Arkansas City (Kansas) Traveler, dated November 19th, 1934 . The scrapbooks were created by local Red Cross volunteers. Articles during the Depression years covered food and other relief efforts, and documented unemployment issues.


Arkansas City (Kansas) Traveler


Arkansas City Public Library, Arkansas City, Kansas


Arkansas City Public Library, Arkansas City, Kansas




Red Cross Volunteers


Used with permission of copyright holder. Further reproduction prohibited without permission.

In Copyright In Copyright










Cowley County, Kansas

Arkansas City (Kansas) Traveler, “Red Cross Scrapbook 1934: page 73 - November,” Digital Arkansas City, accessed February 4, 2023,

Campaign for $15,000 to Start Here To-
Teams Are Appointed to Conduct Canvass For Funds
More than 100 Arkansas Cityans were preparing today to launch their annual campaign against human misery—against the ravages of hunger, cold, disease and disappointment, against the physical and social despair that results in thwarted lives among their neighbors.
Between Tuesday and Friday of this week, these workers hope to raise $15,055—about $1.03 for every person in Arkansas City—to finance the activities of the four organizations participating in the Social Service League through another year.
Need to Be Greater
Their efforts will he spurred by the knowledge that the need for welfare work in the city next year probably will be greater than ever before as the ranks of the destitute continue to grow. They will work with the realization that the league agencies— the Salvation Army, the Red Cross, the Tuberculosis Health Association and the Kansas Society for Crippled Children—are performing a vital service, filling a broad gap that is not and cannot be covered by the federal government or county relief programs.
“These organizations are doing a specialized type of work that is not done by the government,” Dr. Frederick Maier, chairman of the campaign, said Monday. “If it is not done by them it will remain undone, and it is an expensive procedure to neglect the health, well-being and home problems of our community.
Supply Human Touch
“These agencies supply the human touch that is so vitally necessary in the relief of misery and the lessening of despair. They furnish food and clothing in emergency cases which cannot be reached by the government in time to prevent hunger and suffering, but their principal function deals with the health and happiness of the unfortunate and the rehabilitation of their lives.
“Hundreds or children are kept in school and in health by these agencies. Tonsil operations are arranged, glasses fitted, dental work done and under-nourished children fed. Doctors and dentists contribute their services, leaving only direct hospital expenses to be met.
Keep Families Together “Another important service is the advice and counsel given toward the solution of home and social problems, serving to keep families together and preventing children from becoming orphans.
‘‘The government’s relief activities have not decreased the work of the Social Service League. Instead, its tasks have become much heavier as the number of people dependent upon its services increases.”
The campaign will open Tuesday noon at a luncheon in the Y. M. C. A. meeting to perfect the organization and issue instructions to the workers. Other luncheons will be held on Wed-
nesday, Thursday and Friday noons. These are being financed by individual Arkansas Cityans and their cost does not come from the chest fund.
R. H. Rhoads, executive secretary of the campaign, pointed out Monday that the Arkansas City goal represents a much smaller per capita cost than do those of most other cities. Budgets in Wichita and Kansas City amount to approximately $2.90 a person, as compared to the Arkansas City average of $1.03.
Ralph Sowden is president of the Social Service League, and Dr. Maier is chairman of the campaign.
Officers and campaign workers follow:
Division “A”—E. M. Barnard, general manager.
Team No. 1—Dean Trueblood and Stanley Spencer, captains, G.
F. Montague, Forrest Kuhns, Miss Celia Estep, John Thiesen, Miss Ruth Adamson, L. E. Watts and A. C. Fitzgerald.
Team No. 2—J. F. Clough and J. W. Bricker, captains, Dr. O. E. Strodtman, Homer Hill, C. M. Heathman, Forrest Bradley, Louis Gochis and Fred Bender.
Team No. 3—Arthur Williams,
captain, Walter Fesler, David Thomas and John Long.
Team No. 4—C. G. Holmsten.
Team No. 5—Miss Fern Snyder, captain, Miss Janice Whittle, Miss Helen Spain, Mrs. W. E. Cunningham, Mrs. O. Terry, Mrs. Thomas McAdam, Mrs. Howard Smith, Mrs. Lloyd Snyder and Mrs. Kirke Dale.
Team No. 6—Mrs. A. H. Moore and Mrs. Harry Post, captains, Mrs. C. B. Tingley, Mrs. C. H. House, Miss Helen Sills, Miss Patricia Tighe, Miss Geraldine Beck, Mrs. P. C. Hardin and Mrs. E. H. Clayton.
Team No. 7—Mrs. C. E. St. John, captain, Mrs. L. T. Beach, Mrs. J. G. Ambrose, Mrs. C. R. Spain, Mrs. A. H. Bishop, Mrs. Harry Long, Mrs. A. J. Berger, Mrs. George Wheeler, Mrs. Chester Breon, Mrs. J. W. Patterson, Mrs. Harvey Miller, Mrs. H. L. Burnett, Mrs. I. L. Brown, Mrs. W.
E. Burton and Mrs. J. Reed.
Team 8—Mrs. George Getter, captain, Mrs. R. H. Rhoads, Mrs. Helen Ebmeyer, Mrs. Jack Farley, Mrs. Howard Moore, Mrs. Walter Ames, Mrs. Guy Hadley, Mrs. Raymond Fease, Mrs. John Boggs, Mrs. Earl Fleming and Mrs. Oscar Renn.
Team No. 9—Mrs. Charles Cusac, captain, Mrs. Earl Knight and Mrs. Amos Curry.
Team No. 10—Mrs. H. W. Earlougher, captain, Mrs. C. V. Wilson, Mrs. Noble Wing, Mrs. Vinnie Underwood, Mrs. C. A. Cotton, Mrs. J. W. Wells, Mrs. Roy Hughes, Mrs. Fred Deering, Mrs. L. Showell, Mrs. Lester Mitchell and Mrs. John Peck.
Division “B”—J. G. Mawson, general manager.
Team No. 11—Roy Hughes, captain, L. C. Burroughs, Erma Tingley.
Team No. 12—Ivan P. Gillett, captain, C. H. Sanderson, O. Terry, Lee Circle, Harold Crume, Forrest Pyle and Albert W. Newman.
Team No. 13—Guy Curfman and C. J. Webber, captains, Clyde Webber, Don Bayless, David Hall, Vern Allison and A. J. Gullege.
Team No. 14—R. D. Gidney.
Team No. 15—Mrs. W. H. Fountain and Mrs. C. M. Heath-man, captains, Mrs. Wyman Henry, Miss Mary Stanton, Mrs. C. D. Higby, Mrs. Lewis Watts, Mrs. Dan Smith, Mrs. Tyler Marsh, Mrs. Lorenz Smith and Miss Lucille Johnson.
Team No. 16—Mrs. Harry Huff, captain, Mrs. W. J. Norman, Mrs. H. E. Clampett, Miss Edna Mae Watson, Mrs. Ervin Shilling, Mrs. Mae Millspaugh and Mrs. Fay Mc-Ewen.
Team No. 17-—Mrs. Adah Carlton, captain, Mrs. C. C. Thomas, Mrs. Herman Spratt, Mrs. Harry Buck, Mrs. K. J. Hawkins, Mrs. George Dineen, Mrs. John Nolan, Mrs. Ralph Riner, Mrs. H. J. Creighton, Mrs. Murray Sparks and Mrs. Harry Scott.
Team No. 18—Mrs. E. C. Law-son, captain, Mrs. Forrest King,
Mrs. Arthur Breon, Mrs. Maude Selan and Mrs. Bert Deskin.
Team No. 19—Capt. Leon Geer, captain, Mrs. Ida Kinler, Tom Kinler, Mrs. Cecil Huster, Mrs. Hattie McEathern and Mrs. Geer.
Team No. 20—Harold Loucks, captain, Miss Myra Hardy, Miss Fern Reynolds, Miss Ida Wooley, Miss Bella Smith, H. J. Clark, Miss Ruth Kutz, E. A. Funk, Miss Anna Hight, Miss DeMaude Johnson and K. R. Galle.
Members of the executive and advance gift committee are O. S. Stauffer, R. C. Sowden, Foss Farrar, William Bunnell, the Rev. A. E. Roberts, the Rev. Elmer Rich, the Rev. Father M. J. Reidy, Dr. H. J. Edwards, A. L. Newman, Stanley Spencer, John Heard, Grover Dunn, the Rev. Paul Blinn, the Rev. Otto F. Volkland, the Rev. Percy L. Graham, Dr. H. M. Stricklen, G. F. Montague, John Ranney, J. G. Hall, Morris Wilkins, Mrs. A. J. Hunt, the Rev.
C. D. Walker, the Rev. C. A. Clark, R. R. Cox, J. R. Smith and Mrs. Earl Newman.

Original Format

Newspaper clippings on scrapbook paper.